Fried Zucchini

I have been holding out, I love fried zucchini, but I know that grilled zucchini, sautéed zucchini, and roasted zucchini are better for me.  Alas, I finally gave into my craving and it was AWESOME!  I picked a medium zucchini from the garden, came in, washed it off and cut it into sliced.

I set up a breading station, seasoned flour, whisked eggs, and finally bread crumbs.   It didn’t take but a minute to bread the zucchini.

breaded zucchini

I got out my trusty cast iron skillet and added a shallow layer of oil.  My hubby shucked the corn for me while I was breading.   Once the breading was done, he put the chicken on the grill while I started frying.

I turned the oven on to 250 degrees and put a cookie sheet with a cooling rack in the oven to keep the zucchini warm between batches.  By the time I was on the last batch, the chicken was done and resting, I popped the corn into the boiling water.  Three minutes later, we had dinner.   It was a fantastic dinner, the corn was so sweet, I picked it up from my favorite farm stand, the zucchini were crunchy on the outside, tender on the inside and the hubby had cooked the chicken to perfection.

dinner

I polished off every last one of the zucchini, thank goodness I only cut up one!

2 thoughts on “Fried Zucchini

  1. Made zucchini the other night. Sliced the zucchini, mixed it in a bowl with butter (could use olive oil), salt, pepper and parmesan cheese. Stacked the slices in greased muffin cups and baked. It was super yummy.

    Jan

Leave a Reply

