Beef Taco’s

I try so hard to vary our dinners so we never get bored.  In the last week we have had pasta, fish, pork, and chicken.  I have been craving something made with beef.  I didn’t want a steak or a hamburger but a beef taco sounded just perfect.

Since I had the time, I braised beef cubes in a mixture of water, vinegar, garlic, and a whole host of spices, cayenne, cumin, chipolte, oregano, chili powder, etc. etc.  Once the meat was tender, I shredded it with two forks.   I like to include a lot of vegetables in any dinner and taco’s are no exception.    I shredded some cabbage and carrots, made a simple pico de gallo using peppers and tomatoes from the garden, and I sautéed up some peppers and onions.

Beef Taco's

Because I was looking for some crunch, I went old school and bought a box of hard taco shells.  It was such an easy quick dinner once the meat was done braising!    The next day for lunch we used tortillas and had soft taco’s with the leftovers, which were fantastic, but I was really glad I had given into my craving for hard shell tacos!

What I love about taco’s – everyone gets to make their own, you can put as much or as little of each “topping” as you wish.   I prefer more vegetables than meat, the hubby fills his shell with meat, with barely enough room for some cheese, cabbage and sauteed onions.   Ah well, my theory is that the more veggies I put on the table, the better the odds he will actually eat them.

Leave a Reply

