Pickle Relish

Summer canning season is in full swing at my house.   I made another batch of lime basil marmalade, the first one went over so well, yippee!  My neighbors were on vacation last week and told me to pick my fill from their garden.   Lucky for me, their cucumbers are doing well, mine died the week after I planted them, boo hoo.    Anyway, in addition to the cucumbers, I picked eggplant (YES!), zucchini, peppers, and tomatoes.

garden bounty

I was originally going to make pickles with the cucumbers but them I decided to make a batch of relish instead.   Funny story, my husband HATES cucumbers, a few years back he came into the kitchen while I was making relish and asked me what in the world I was doing, when I replied, “making relish, why?” he informed me that relish is made from pickles…..not cucumbers…….sigh……

The good news is the hubby likes relish, especially in his tuna salad and I had just enough cucumbers for one batch.   I followed the ball canning recipe, but I added 1/2 tsp. of turmeric to the pot.   I like the color of the end result when you use turmeric.

Relish Prep

I decided to try using the shredding blade of my food processor to speed up the chopping process.  I wasn’t thrilled with the results, it was fine, but I will go back to hand chopping the veggies next time.  I think you get a more consistent final product that way.   Any way, you chop 8 cups of cucumbers, 4 cups each red and green sweet peppers, 2 cups celery, and 1 cup onion so it is a lot of chopping.   Once that is done, the actual cooking of the relish takes barely any time at all.   You toss all of the vegetables with some canning salt (yes, canning salt, don’t use table or kosher, it will discolor and cloud the final product) and let them sit for 4 hours.  After 4 hours, you drain and rinse the veggies.  Bring vinegar and spices to a boil, add vegetables and cook for 10 minutes.   Ladle into jars, seal, and process in a water bath for 10 minutes.   Simple and quick!

Cooking Relish

I ended up with 7 jars of marmalade and 12 jars of relish, not too shabby, if I do say so myself.   Happy canning season to you all.

Marmalade and Relish

 

Leave a Reply

