Lemon Pound Cake

I always try to serve a homemade dessert when we have company for dinner and pound cake is usually my go to dessert.  It is easy, it can be paired with fruit, it doesn’t require frosting, everyone seems to like it and you can use the leftovers to make french toast in the morning!

Originally, I was going to make a lemon pound cake and serve it with a side of blueberries.  I like the flavor combination of lemon and blueberries, but when I got to the farm stand, the smell of the cantaloupe, so ripe and fresh, changed my mind.   I hesitated for a minute, since I had already made the lemon pound cake, I wasn’t sure how the flavors would pair, but I took a chance because I can never turn down a juicy, sweet, ripe cantaloupe!

I was pleasantly surprised, the melon played nicely with the lemon. I think blueberries might have been a better choice, but I am glad I tried something new.

As for the cake, I used my traditional buttermilk pound cake recipe and added the zest of one lemon so the lemon flavor wasn’t too overwhelming.   I used the juice from the lemon and added confectioners sugar to make a quick lemon glaze.  I drizzled that over the cake.  It looked so pretty!

Lemon Pound Cake

All in all, it was the perfect way to end a very long day.  Thank you again to our friends for all of their help with the kitchen tile.  It looks amazing and I am thrilled beyond belief with the result.

Leave a Reply

