Corn on the Cob

One of the farm stands that I frequent has the best corn on the cob,  hands down, every single time.  It is sweet and tender.   The hubby and I are big fans of corn on the cob and when it is in season, we have been known to eat it several times a week.   I do try very hard to make the corn our “starch” and have other veggies on the plate!

chx, corn, beans

 

The green beans also came from the same farm stand, the meat from the local butcher.   It was a simple meal.  I seasoned the chicken with some garlic, salt, and pepper, then grilled it.  I steamed the green beans and corn.   Easy, peasy dinner that was on the table in under 20 minutes.   Simple, fast dinners seem to be a staple for us in the summer.  There are just so many other things I want to be doing outside while the sun is shining.   In the winter, when the skies are gray and the weather is cold, I like to huddle in my kitchen, making recipes that slow cook on the stove but summer is all about quick and fresh to me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

