Are you ready for some football…..

NOPE, not even a little bit….sigh…..to say the least, this is not my favorite time of year. The start of football season.  We have the NFL channel, the NFL package on DirecTV so we can watch ALL sixteen games on a Sunday.  The hubby has season tickets to Penn State Football Games and to add insult to injury, he is even involved in a fantasy football league.  ESPN is on my television 24/7 from the first of August until the minute the Super Bowl ends.  To combat this assault of crazy in my house, I cook.

My husband’s Fantasy Football draft was on Saturday afternoon.   Knowing how competitive this league is, I knew he wouldn’t stop to eat so I wanted to make him a big, warm, hearty meal before he left.   My nephew is in the same league, he lives a distance away so he usually spends the night at our house on Draft Night.   My nephew is  a young man who can EAT, my husband is a man who is no slouch when it comes to cleaning his plate.   I decided to make Sloppy Joe’s because it could be kept hot on the stove and was ready whenever my nephew arrived.   It was the perfect choice!  I served it on Potato Rolls with chips and dip.

sloppy joes

I usually wing it when it comes to sloppy joes….a little onion, a little garlic, some sweet peppers, tomato sauce, tomato paste, a little BBQ sauce and voila!  A hearty, easy lunch simmering on the stove, ready whenever the mood strikes you to eat.  It turned out beautifully, I was really happy with the taste and texture.  The boys were happy was well, each of them ate three sandwiches along with chips before leaving.   I ended up having to go out and get more rolls, in case they came home hungry from the draft.  I wasn’t expecting that, but it was a nice surprise.

Now that fall is approaching, there will be more one pot meals on my stove.  Sloppy Joe’s are a great Sunday afternoon dish, you keep the pot on low and as friends and family stop by to watch the games, you always have something to offer.

Happy Football Season!

2 thoughts on “Are you ready for some football…..

  1. I feel your pain… totally… we have all the Sunday Ticket also, and he’s a HUGE Steelers and Iowa Hawkeyes fan, but we have the fantasy football draft at our house, since my husband is the commissioner. Lucky for me I like football, and am even in the league, however, I’m not as fanatical as he is… I both love and dread the season. One thing is for sure Thursday nights, Saturday’s, ALL **beeping** day on Sunday and Monday nights are always loud at our house! To bad we don’t live closer, we could let the boys have their fun and we could go do something!

    • Absolutely, it is a shame we don’t live closer. I used to be able to send all of the guys down to the basement to watch the games – surround sound, big screen tv, recliners, beer fridge, the works but at this new house, we haven’t had a chance to finish the basement yet so all the action takes place in the family room. Hopefully by next football season that will be ready and I can send everyone down there. This time I will put a bathroom down there too!

Leave a Reply

