I Blame My Mother…..

Yesterday I worked nine hours, had a two-hour commute, and still had time to stop at the store on the way home AND make a batch of homemade soup for dinner.  I really need to find a way to sleep in past 4am, this is ridiculous!

Anyway, the whole soup craving can be directly blamed on my mother.  She hosted a soup party at her house this week for some friends and one of the soups she served was potato.   I love potato soup, it is one of my comfort foods.  Ok, who are we kidding, any white starch is my comfort food, anyway, after she said that I was totally craving potato soup.  Our weather here has been a bit unpredictable, some days it is hot and humid, others cool and rainy.   Yesterday was cool and rainy, we never made it out of the mid 60’s and the skies were grey all day.  Originally I was going to have a pork tenderloin with roasted root veggies for dinner, but I just couldn’t get the thought of a nice, warm, wonderful bowl of soup out of my head.

Since I had to stop at the store on the way home anyway to pick up a few items, I threw a ham slice in the cart, just in case the hubby was in the mood for soup as well.  I had all of the other ingredients in the pantry/fridge.  I got home and gave my husband his choices, pork tenderloin or creamy, delicious potato soup with ham.  He resoundingly said SOUP! Yeah, I was so happy.

I don’t usually follow a recipe when it comes to soup, whatever I have on hand goes in the pot.  Yesterday was no exception.   I diced up three stalks of celery, five carrots, and two onions.  I seasoned them with some salt and pepper, then sautéed them in a bit of olive oil  until tender.  I added a small spoonful of minced garlic, because it happen to be in my fridge already, and let that cook for another minute.   I added six cups of chicken stock, brought that to a boil, then turned it down to a simmer and added one bay leaf.   I peeled and diced five potatoes and added them to the pot.   I let this simmer for about 45 minutes, then added two cups of shredded cheddar cheese and one cup of heavy cream.  I pulled out the bay leaf, added the diced ham slice, and ta-da, dinner was done.   I had picked up a whole grain ciabatta bread from the store and we had soup and bread.  It was exactly what I needed after a long day at the office on a Saturday!

potato soup

 

The only thing I look forward to with the change of seasons is soup.  Thank goodness the hubby is totally on board with soup for dinner. Today the weather is sunny but chilly, I can’t wait to have a bowl of this soup for lunch!

Leave a Reply

