Sausage and Zucchini

Earlier this summer I came across a recipe for sausage and zucchini with rigatoni pasta.   It was  such a nice meal, easy to make and it can be on your table in about 20 minutes.   All the perfect components for a summer meal!

Since I am never content making something the same way twice, this time when I made the recipe, I decided to dice the sausage, instead of removing it from the casing.   Overall, it gave the dish a different look and texture, but all of the flavors were still there.

zucchini and sausagepasta dish

The last time I made this recipe, I really thought it needed more vegetables, so this time, I added some diced sweet red peppers and doubled the zucchini.   Since I only had sweet italian sausage on hand, I minced up one hot pepper from my garden and added that to the onions, peppers, and zucchini.

Zucchini pasta dinner

It was delicious.  A wonderful, light summer pasta dish, filled with vegetables from the garden.  I love all of the fresh vegetables of summer and usually have quite a selection in my kitchen so throwing together a meal and adding extra veggies is never a problem in our house.   I need to celebrate the last full week of summer and I choose to do it with lots, and lots, of vegetables!

Leave a Reply

