Chicken Stock – Crock Pot Style

Whenever I roast an entire chicken, I like to take the bones and toss them in the crock pot with some veggies, spices, and herbs.  I fill it three-quarters of the way with water and turn it on low for eight hours.   When you wake up in the morning you have lovely chicken stock that you can either use immediately or freeze for later.

chicken stock crock pot

The only down side is waking up hungry for chicken noodle soup because you spent the night smelling the lovely chicken stock cooking!  I usually let it cool a bit, strain it and put in the fridge for a few hours to let the fat firm up.  I degreased the stock and ladled it into four cup containers and pop them in the freezer.   I usually get about eight cups of chicken stock out of my crock pot.  It is totally worth it to me, homemade stock tastes so good, you control the fat and salt content, and there are no preservatives.   It make such a difference when making soup or risotto, you can really tell when you have used a store-bought box of broth versus a batch of homemade.   Really it couldn’t be easier, the crock pot does all of the work for you. You don’t need to finely dice the vegetables because they will be cooking for such a long time, try it next time you roast a whole chicken.

Now, I have to decide what kind of soup I will make with my stock, any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

