Pickled Red Beet Eggs

Maybe it is a Pennsylvania thing, but anytime I make pickled red beets, I am compelled to make pickled red beet eggs.  Again, something the hubby won’t touch, but that is fine, it means more for me!  When making the brine for pickled red beets, I usually triple the recipe.   Once the beets go into the boiling water canner, I boil up some hard boiled eggs and peel them.   I add the hot eggs right into the hot brine and allow them to cool to room temperature.

Pickled Eggs

Once they are cool, I put them in the fridge and then the waiting starts.  I usually eat them after a week in the pickling liquid.  I eat them right out of the fridge, but they are equally delicious sliced on a bed of salad greens, all you need to do is add a little salt, pepper, and olive oil, as the eggs are already pickled!

I even had enough leftover brine to fill a few containers in the freezer.  Now, whenever the mood strikes for pickled eggs, I just need to boil and peel some eggs and defrost the brine.  Whoo hooo!  My grandmother used to make these and sell them at the bar they owned.  She would sell pickled eggs, one for a dime and two for a quarter…..no one ever questioned her.  She was one smart woman!

2 thoughts on “Pickled Red Beet Eggs

Leave a Reply

