Sunday Dinner

While home in Tucson, my cousin David, made multiple requests for a family dinner.   He must have mentioned it to me at least three times in one day!  I got the hint and Mom and I planned dinner for Sunday night.  Almost everyone was able to make it, with very little notice, I might add, and it ended up being one of the things I will treasure from my trip home.   I think we needed to be together, to reconnect, and

I find it is always hard to cook a big meal in someone else’s kitchen and we had a boatload of people coming, so we kept the menu simple: Spiral sliced ham, scalloped potatoes, salad with homemade dressing, pickles and olives – because goodness gracious it isn’t a Manherz family dinner without them, glazed carrots, roasted asparagus, homemade bread and homemade chocolate cake for dessert.

scalloped potatoes white bread Thanksgiving 2014 113

I didn’t get a chance to take photo’s of everything and honestly, I didn’t want to take the time.  I wanted this night to be about family and it was exactly what I got.  We sat around the table, telling stories, holding babies, and laughing.  My mom had a light up race track for the little ones to play with and it took five adults to figure out how to put it together!  My younger cousins are now all parents (holy cow, how did that happen, I am not old enough for them to be parents!) and we had babies everywhere.  It is so hard for me to be so far away from that side of my family, I am grateful to David for his suggestion and happy that we were able to make it happen.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Dinner

  1. This beautiful dinner that you made for us touched me beyond words! You pulled off a herculean effort and made it look easy. You didn’t even stop to eat yourself. I hold this memory, this much needed family dinner as a treasure in my heart Michele. Your Tucson family LOVE and MISS you always. XO

Leave a Reply

