Roasted Corn Chowder

We are truly sliding into the home stretch for this semester.  This is actually the last week of classes, Saturday we start finals.  I can’t believe this semester is almost over, it has gone so fast!  We are winding down with events on campus, just a few more before the winter break.  I have to work this weekend and again next weekend.  I have been so tired, emotionally and physically from my trip home and I just couldn’t face a big, heavy dinner last night so I kept it simple with a roasted corn chowder.

I got this recipe from a neighbor a few years back, it is really simple.  You roast off two bags of frozen corn, add it to some sautéed onions, red peppers, celery, and garlic.  Add stock, a few potatoes and a nice helping of bacon.  Finish it off with a generous splash of heavy cream and EAT!

bacon onions and peppers roasted corn

I paired it with grilled ham and cheese sandwiches for a really quick, easy dinner.  From start to finish the entire meal took me an hour to put together.  Not too shabby for a weeknight meal, if I do say so myself.

grilled ham and cheese

Happy December folks!

Leave a Reply

