Soup, Bread, and CAKE!

A dear friend had surgery a few weeks back.   I wanted to take her and her family something warm and comforting for dinner.  I settled on a cream of potato soup with bacon, homemade bread, and chocolate cake for dessert.

cream of potato soup choc cakeThanksgiving 2014 274

I don’t like my cream soups to be too heavy, so I make mine with broth, and finish it with a generous splash of heavy cream.  It still gives you the luscious creaminess that you crave without making it so rich that you can’t finish a bowl.

I brought over the treats and visited for a nice long time.  It was so good to see my friend up and about, I was so worried about her, but she came through like a champ! I am so grateful to her and her family for their friendship and making a meal was the least I could do to show her (and them!) how I feel about them.

Cream of Potato Soup

1 Onion, Peeled and Diced

2 Stalks Celery, Diced

3 Carrots, Peeled and Diced

5 Potatoes, Peeled and Diced

1/2 Lb Bacon, Diced

2 Quarts Chicken Stock

1 Cup Heavy Cream

Fry bacon in a heavy bottom sauce pan.  Remove and drain on paper towels.  Leave the grease in the bottom of the pan.  Saute onion, celery, and carrots in bacon grease until tender, season with salt and pepper to taste.  Once the vegetables have softened, add the potatoes and stock.  Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook until the vegetables are fully cooked.   Add the cup of heavy cream and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

