Christmas Eve and the Elves have been Busy

Today dawned rainy and gray here in PA, but I was totally OK with that, I had tons of things to finish in the kitchen!

dreary day

I started my day with a last-minute trip to the grocery store and then in the kitchen to make batch after batch of homemade granola

Homemade granola

I had made the dulce leche for the vanilla caramel liqueur yesterday, so all I had to do was assemble the liqueur today.  I am so glad I had originally planned on making a double batch, when I tested the recipe as written, I could hardly breathe!  WAAYYYYY too much alcohol in the mix.   I added the additional two cans of sweetened condensed milk, the rest of the 750 ml bottle of white rum and a second vanilla bean and it was perfect.

vanilla caramel liqueur

After finishing that, I made a batch of rice pudding for dessert tomorrow.

rice pudding

Some hazelnut truffles and yes, they have nutella in them, whooo hoooo!

hazelnut truffles

and last, but certainly not least……BOURBON BALLS!

making bourbon balls

This is the mixture before shaping it into balls and dipping in chocolate.  It couldn’t be simpler.  I got the recipe from a lovely woman who used to work in my office.

Doreen’s Bourbon Balls

2 Sticks Butter

3/4 Cup Chopped Pecans

2 Boxes of Confectioners Sugar (2 lbs total)

7-12 T Bourbon

Mix butter, sugar, and pecans together.  Add 7 T of bourbon, if the mixture is still too dry, add additional bourbon, 1 T at a time.  Roll into balls, place on a parchment lined cookie sheet and refrigerate for approximately 30 minutes.  Dip in chocolate, refrigerate until firm.  Store in a covered container in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Up next, dinner.  According to folklore, anyone who smells rosemary on Christmas Eve will experience happiness in the coming year.  After the year we have had, I really need a nice dose of happiness so rosemary garlic rack of lamb in our on menu tonight.

Happy Christmas, may Santa bring you everything you asked for…..

2 thoughts on “Christmas Eve and the Elves have been Busy

Leave a Reply

