Breakfast Christmas Morning

Usually I make a pan of sticky buns for breakfast Christmas morning, this year, I just wasn’t in the mood to spend more time in the kitchen on Christmas Eve.  Luckily, I had picked up a loaf of texas toast so I settled on French Toast with Bacon.

french toast

It was a great choice, slightly sweet, crunchy exterior, soft interior with a kiss of butter….YUM!  While I was making breakfast the hubby was setting up his new coffee maker so he had a really good cup of coffee to go along with breakfast.  I am a tea girl, coffee just doesn’t interest me, so I had a nice big mug of English breakfast.

We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast before hitting the shower and getting ready to head to my side of the family for the rest of the day.  Before leaving, I whipped up a batch of rice krispie treats for the hubby’s nephew and family to enjoy in case they arrived at our house before we got home.  There is always food in my house, but sometimes after a long and stressful day, something sweet before going to bed is exactly what you need.

I always forget how easy rice krispie treats are to make and boy are they good!

Christmas Day was a bit hard, we have lost some really wonderful people this year and celebrating without them was difficult, but I tried to just remember the good times we all shared and be present in the moment with my family.  I could have very easily gotten lost in my grief so I tried really hard to find the joy in the day, I think it is what Aunt Georgeann and Chelsea would have wanted.  Thank goodness for my family, they are such wonderful people, so loving, kind, and supportive.  Celebrate each and every person in your life, ever day, for you never know how long they will be here.

Leave a Reply

