Snow…Sleet….Freezing Rain

Saturday dawned grey and dreary here in Southeastern PA.  The morning started off with snow, followed by sleet, a little freezing rain and then a cold rain.   Boo hoo…… Anyway, it was a great excuse to take down all of the Christmas decorations and put up the winter ones.   I also spend quite a bit of time in the kitchen.  I am not going to be able to cook in my kitchen today as the hubby and neighbor will be finishing my back splash, so I wanted to get some meals done or at least prepped so we have something to eat tomorrow and Monday.

I made a creamy cauliflower soup with potatoes, carrots, and ham.   We had that for lunch with some of the leftover pizza from Friday night.   I made a loaf of beer bread and took some soup to the neighbors who will be helping us with the back splash, since I won’t be able to make them dinner tonight!

cauliflower soup

 

While the soup was cooking, I poached a whole chicken breast in mexican spices and sautéed onions, garlic and peppers.  My goal is to make chicken enchilada’s for dinner tonight.  I should be able to use the oven, I just can’t wash any dishes in the sink.  We can still use the dishwasher so everything needs to be prepped and ready to just assemble and bake.

sauting veg for chx enchilada chx enchilada filing

Once the veggies were sautéed with spices and the chicken poached, I combine all of it with some fresh cilantro and a bit of cream cheese and that will be our filing for the tortilla’s tonight.  I have a can of enchilada sauce and tortilla’s waiting on the counter along with some grated cheese in the fridge.  It should be a snap to put dinner together and toss it in the oven.   I am planning to make some mexican rice and refried beans to go alongside.

We still have some brownies and cape cod bars that we will have for dessert, so we should be all set! Happy Sunday, I will post pictures of the back splash once it is all done, I CAN’T WAIT!

 

 

Leave a Reply

