Can you believe it…..

So, I work at a science school, in fact, all we have are science and healthcare majors.  Not a school you would typically think of when it came to sports.  Our students are not usually into sports, in fact, I am not sure some of them even know we have a gym on campus.  Anyway, this has been a heck of a year for both the men’s and women’s basketball teams.  We are in contention for first place in our division…..I still can’t believe it and I have been at most of our games!

Anyway, Saturday afternoon I went to work and watched our women’s team win their 8th straight game and the men go on to a record 12 and 4 this season.  It was fun to watch, we are getting quite a crowd of people in our gym to watch the student athletes and I think that is fantastic.  I didn’t go to work solely to watch the students, we were also having our Alumni Hall of Fame Ceremony and Reception that day.  We inducted two players into the Hall of Fame and it was a pleasure to be a part of the day.

Since I knew I had to work, I decided to make my life easy and put a corned beef roast in my crock pot before I left.

corned beef

I actually put a layer of small white potatoes in the bottom, topped it with the beef and pickling spices before adding four cups of beef stock. I set it for low and went to work.  When I came home I made a batch of coleslaw and we had dinner done in a flash!

Thank goodness for the slow cooker on days like Saturday.  It really made it easy to put a nice meal on the table, especially since I didn’t get home until 6:30pm.  If I had to cook something from scratch I doubt we would have eaten at a reasonable hour!

Leave a Reply

