Great Saturday

Saturday dawned clear and bright with a brilliant blue sky. The temperature warmed up to a balmy 45 degrees, I couldn’t stand to spend the day inside, so I got all of my chores done, bundled up a bit and went for a really long walk.  I think the combination of the warmer temperatures, the sun shining so brightly and the exercise gave my mood just the boost it needed.

look at that brilliant blue sky!

look at that brilliant blue sky!

I ended my night by having dinner with two of my friends, it was a really great Saturday!  We laughed and talked for hours last night, really grateful for the people in my life.  I am so proud of myself for ignoring all of the things I should have done yesterday and doing what I wanted and needed to do, be with my friends and enjoying their company.

I offered to bring dessert and all week I struggled to decide what to make, not normally a problem for me, but I was stumped.  I ended up deciding on an Oatmeal Stout Cake with a Broiled Oatmeal Topping.  It is like a really dense spice cake with a lovely hint of orange.  Perfect ending to a great meal.

oatmeal stoudt cake batter

I had big plans of going to the grocery store today and making a big pot of soup, but the unexpected ice storm this morning abruptly changed my plans.  Ah well, maybe it isn’t such a bad thing to be stuck in the house today.  Good thing I had a pork tenderloin in the freezer, along with some braised red cabbage and homemade pierogi – at least we won’t go hungry!

Leave a Reply

