Fish….what the hubby wants for dinner

So a few months ago, I bought a bag of individually frozen salmon filets for the hubby.   I am not a huge fan of fish, I eat it because it is healthy, not because a I like it and even then, I really have to be in the mood.   I am not a big fan of salmon, I prefer really, really mild white fishes (preferrabley breaded and FRIED….but I digress!), but the hubby really loves it and I do try to make him healthy, interesting dinners when I can.

I have to say, it has been nice to have the filets in the freezer, I can take out as many as we need for dinner, they defrost really quickly, and it makes for an easy dinner.  I took the last of the filets out of the freezer this morning and put them in the fridge to defrost.

When I got home,  I seasoned the fish and put it in our toaster oven, made a batch of rice and heated up the leftover braised red cabbage.  The colors on the plate were really pretty.

salmon dinner

 

Is it never be a dinner that I crave, but it makes the husband happy and it is such a healthy meal.  He eats so crappy when he travels, I like knowing he eats well-balanced meals when he is home. I on the other hand celebrated national cheese day with my dinner…..

cheese fondue

cheese fondue  with fresh-baked bread, not exactly a well-balanced dinner, but it was an AWESOME dinner.  I mean really, how can you go wrong with a dinner of melted cheesy goodness and carbs!?

Leave a Reply

