Friday Night Risotto

Friday I went in to work early so I could leave a little early to stop at the grocery store on my way home.  We were expecting snow again on Saturday, nothing much, and normally I wouldn’t set foot in a grocery store when the forecast calls for snow, but I needed to pick up a few things.  The store was packed.  If you live in Southeastern PA like I do, any hint of snow and people stock up on groceries like they will be snowed in for weeks.  Crazy, I know, but what can you do, thank goodness I didn’t need eggs, bread, or milk (the trifecta of grocery items  needed during a snow storm in PA)!

Anyway, thank goodness I left work early, I got to the store before the real madness began, but it was still really busy.  I picked up my items and headed home.   Once there, I gave the hubby a choice of starches for dinner – mashed potatoes, rice, or risotto.  Now, we both love risotto, but my husband can eat three cups in one sitting…..seriously…..the boy loves his starches, but risotto….he can take that to a whole new level. Not surprisingly, he asked for the risotto.

I hadn’t picked up anything to add to it this time, I have been known to add roasted butternut squash, asparagus, and all manner of roasted vegetables, but this time, I just wanted the simple goodness of the rice, onion, and cheese.

I oven roasted some chicken breasts and while they were cooking on a bed of onions, I made risotto.  All I had to do was steam so broccoli and we had a lovely meal on the table in under an hour. Not to shabby!

chx broc risotto

Leave a Reply

