Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Saturday, the hubby started painting the kitchen.  I knew I wasn’t going to be able to make anything elaborate for dinner so I planned ahead.  Friday night after cleaning up our dinner, I made coleslaw and a batch of macaroni salad.

macaroni salad slaw

Last week I had slow roasted off two pork tenderloins.  We ate the one for dinner, the other, I shredded and froze for use at a later time.  Guess what, it was later! I pulled it out of the freezer and put it in the fridge to defrost.   I wasn’t sure how much snow we would end up with so I didn’t want to count on being able to run to the store for rolls so I made a batch of dough, shaped it into rolls and let it rise overnight in the fridge.

All I had to do Saturday night was let the rolls come to room temperature then rise for an additional 30 minutes before baking.

homemade rolls

While they were cooling on the counter, I added store-bought BBQ sauce to the pork and heated it up.  Not a fancy Saturday night dinner, but it sure was tasty!

pulled pork sammie

If you have been reading this blog for very long, you know that I tend to rise before the sun.  I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the snow-covered trees before the sun rose for the day.   I love the blue cast to the sky.   I took the same picture a few hours later – I love the black and white quality of the picture – so I thought I would share.

early morning snow

and here is a picture from mid morning….

mid morning snow

We are expecting more snow this week, I think a batch of soup is definitely in order!

Leave a Reply

