Old School Dinner

Monday night I wanted an easy dinner that would not produce a lot of leftovers since the hubby was leaving in the morning and would be gone the rest of the week.   By late afternoon the temperatures had climbed and the roads were not as treacherous so the hubby ran to the store for me.  I gave him a list of choices and he asked for breaded chicken cutlet with mashed potatoes and a green vegetable.

chicken cutlet

Our dinner was a throw back meal, something that would have graced an American Family table in the 50’s and 60’s.  How many people even make breaded chicken cutlet anymore? We are all just wayyy to health conscious sometimes.   Anyway, I peeled and diced the potatoes and put them on to cook.  I then set up a breading station and breaded a pound of thinly sliced chicken breasts.  The neighborhood grocery store in our area cuts them by hand, I love that they still have a butcher in-house who will break down larger cuts of meat for you upon request.  It is one of the reasons I try so very hard to do as much of my weekly shopping there as possible.  It would be a shame to lose such a treasure.

Anyway, after starting the chicken, I put on a pot of water to cook the broccoli.  I opened a jar of gravy, because, hello….mashed potatoes just cry out for a pool of lovely, luscious gravy and we had dinner.  It was just perfect, exactly what I wanted for dinner, the crunchy crust of the meat, the creaminess of the potatoes and the bright green of the broccoli, it was a visually appealing meal, as well as a delicious one!

Leave a Reply

