Valentine’s Day Lunch

Holidays, any holiday, were always special at our house when I was a child.   It was like holidays gave my Mom permission to have fun with our food, and in some cases, our clothes….but that is a story for another day.

I can’t tell you how many times we had heart-shaped meatloaf covered in ketchup for Valentines Day or green mashed potatoes for St. Patrick’s Day.  I swear my Mom went through more food coloring in a year than most people go through in their lifetime.   I always looked forward to seeing what exciting foods or shapes would grace our dinner table on a holiday night.   Mom never disappointed!

Fast forward a few years, I am now married, living in my own house and my husband doesn’t have time for that kind of nonsense.  He is a very practical, with little time for silliness.   I have tried making things like pastel colored dinner rolls at Easter, heart-shaped cookies for Valentines Day, but he just doesn’t appreciate the sentiment.   So, I still make the holidays special, but I do it in a way that makes both of us happy.

For lunch yesterday, I made a batch of tomato basil soup, whooo hoo, red for the holiday! with mini Panini ham and turkey sandwiches.  As long as it is subtle, he barely notices, it makes me happy to have fun with our food so in essence, we both win.

tomato basil with rice pannini time

 

The day was brutally cold, in fact, we are looking at a high on Monday of 18 degrees….which I know for some of you is considered warm but for me, that is downright evil.  That doesn’t even factor in our wind chill, we are expecting wind gusts of up to 55 miles per hour.  Anyway, I was so very happy for a pot of warm, delicious soup and a melty sandwich to combat the cold.

Just as we sat down to eat lunch, the snow started to fall.  It looked really pretty and I was happy to snuggle up with a good book and let the snow fall outside.

valentine 2015 007

We didn’t get much in the way of accumulation, thank goodness (sorry BOSTON!), but it did make everything look pretty.  I hope you all enjoyed your Valentines Day.

Leave a Reply

