Meatless Friday

Thank goodness for lent, it is the only time of year I can serve meatless meals in our house without complaint!  Normally we have fish on Friday’s in lent, since I wouldn’t be home for the weekend (duty calls!) I wanted to make something that would give the hubby some leftovers for dinner on Saturday.  I stopped by the store on the way home and picked up the ingredients to make baked ziti.  I have been trying to limit the amount of white starches in my diet, I have found that increasing the number of vegetables on my plate has gone a long way to help me eat less carbs.  So, in an effort to have something else on the plate besides oooey, gooey, cheesy goodness, I picked up a bag of spinach to make as our side dish.  I kept it simple and just sautéed it with some garlic.

ziti and spinach

I love carbs so limiting the amount of baked ziti on my plate is always a challenge, I have to say I was proud of myself for having an almost equal amount of sautéed spinach.   The garlicky spinach was a perfect foil for the creamy, rich pasta.   I did cook up a pound of Sweet Italian Sausage so when the hubby reheats his leftovers tonight, he will have some meat to go along side.  I can’t deprive him of meat two nights in a row……according to him, that would be cruel and unusual punishment!

Leave a Reply

