Weekend Events

I worked two events in the Harrisburg, PA area this weekend.  Saturday night was a happy hour at the Appalachian Brewing Company, followed by dinner with the people who were speaking at my event on Sunday morning.   The trip out to Harrisburg wasn’t bad at all, made it in an hour and half.  I had time to check into the hotel, change my clothes and even get to the venue an hour before the happy hour to set up.  Everything went smoothly and ran without a hitch.

Sunday morning was a different story.  We were expecting a snow storm, but they were only calling for 1-3 inches.  It wasn’t supposed to start until the middle of the day, and my program was over at 1:30pm, I figured it wouldn’t be a problem at all.  Well the first flakes started falling at 7:05am and kept on falling until after 2 o’clock that afternoon.  To add insult to injury, one of my speakers ended up with food poisoning from dinner, her face was a lovely shade of green.  I felt so bad for her.  She rallied in time for her speech, but she didn’t look good doing it.

At 2pm, the event was over, I had packed up, and cleaned off my car.  The roads were a bit dicey, but overall not too bad and I was sticking to major highways so I figured it wouldn’t be an issue.  And truly, it wasn’t, until the snow stopped falling and the ice began at 2:30pm.  My trip home took almost four hours.  I was exhausted by the time I made it through the door.  My car was completely encased in ice, with only the front and rear windows clear, thank goodness my defrost systems are in perfect working order!

alumni event in harrisburg 012 alumni event in harrisburg 013

I had planned ahead for our Sunday dinner, thank goodness, we had Pepper Steak.   It was an easy meal, that took minutes to prepare.   I changed my clothes, unpacked the car, and started slicing the vegetables.  While I was doing that, I had the hubby make the marinade, then I thinly sliced the london broil.  I let the meat marinate for 30 minutes while I unpacked my suitcase and poured myself a glass of wine.  I have been trying to increase the amount of vegetables on my plate at each meal, so I added mushrooms to the mix this time.  I was really happy with the results.  I sautéed the vegetables, removed them from the pan and cooked the meat.  Once the meat was cooked, I added the vegetables back in the pot, added a can of diced tomatoes, and started a pot of rice.

I was so happy to have a warm meal to end my yucky day.  After eating, I collapsed on the couch with a good book and went to bed early!

Leave a Reply

