Winter needs to end…..

Oh my goodness this winter needs to end.  I have battled winter weather too many times this week! Monday we had a two-hour weather delay, leaving me to re work the schedule for our day long, university wide training session.  Tuesday I had to be at work at 5am, but the good news was that my event would be over by 2:30pm, allowing me to leave relatively early.   I really did try to walk out the door at 2:30pm, but one thing lead to another and it was 3:30pm before I made it to my car.   I wasn’t too concerned.  It was supposed to start snowing, but the temperatures were due to rise and it would eventually be all rain.  The weathermen were wrong…..it snowed for about 15 minutes and turned to freezing rain.

I left work and took the back roads, until a car in the on coming lane lost control and nearly slammed into my car.   I immediately headed for the main roads and promptly got stuck behind an accident.  It took me four and a half hours to get home Tuesday night.  Thank goodness I had leftovers in the fridge, the hubby ate those, I on the other hand, was stuck eating the bag of frito corn chips that I had pilfered from my event that afternoon.

By the time I made it home, all I wanted was to change into my PJ’s, watch a little TV, and go to bed early.   The good news was, I had planned a really easy, quick dinner that we didn’t get to eat.  Wednesday night I had an event that was due to end at 6pm, but I was able to leave a little earlier than expected and made it home by 7pm.  It only took me 8 minutes to get dinner on the table.

ham, salad, pierogi

Asian salad, pan-fried ham steaks and home-made pierogi!  I can’t tell you how happy I was that we didn’t eat that on Tuesday night, my original plan for Wednesday was take out, but this was so much better.

Leave a Reply

