Pasta with Garlic

I swear I will do anything to avoid having fish for dinner, so Friday night, I pulled out a recipe for Pasta with Garlic Three Ways from Martha Stewart to satisfy the Lenten requirement of no meat on Fridays.    I had planned ahead and roasted off a whole head of garlic earlier in the week.  I popped it in the freezer until I was ready.  All I had to do when I got home on Friday was slice up two cloves of garlic and mince four cloves of garlic while waiting for the pot of water to boil for the pasta.

The recipe is dead simple, you start by browning the garlic chips in olive oil, then removing them from the pan.  I lowered the heat to medium and added the minced garlic to the pan an allowed it to cook for a minute or two before adding a generous helping of white wine.  I whisked in the roasted garlic and while the wine reduced, I added the pasta to the water.

I reserved some of the cooking water from the pasta, tossed the pasta with the sauce, adding a little of the cooking liquid.   I added in a pinch of red pepper flakes and a healthy amount of minced parsley and plated the dish.

blog post 3.15 005

The final touch was to top it with the fried garlic chips and lots of shredded parmesan cheese.   I had stopped by the local farm stand, I was really hoping for a bundle of asparagus, but it is just a little too early in the season, so I settled for some broccoli instead.

blog post 3.15 008

It was a tasty meal that will certainly keep the vampires away!

 

Leave a Reply

