Spring Veggie Pasta

I have been battling a stomach bug for the last few days, I finally feel like myself again, but for a while it was just ugly.   Originally, my plan for Good Friday was to have fish and chips, but I was afraid my stomach wouldn’t handle greasy fried food well so I re grouped and went with a spring vegetable pasta dish instead.

blog post 4.4.15 001

I stopped at the store Friday morning and picked up an assortment of veggies.   I came home, cut them all up and put them in the fridge until dinner.   I kept it simple – onions, peppers, zucchini, green beans, garlic, and cherry tomatoes.    Once it came time for dinner, all I had to do was start sauteing vegetables and put a pot of water on to boil.

I cooked the veggies until they were tender crisp and de glazed the pan with some white wine.   I reserved about  a cup of the pasta cooking water before draining and used it to finish the sauce.   I tossed the drained pasta with the veggies and wine, added some cooking liquid and a nice handful of parmesan cheese.  It really turned out better than I expected.  We have a bit leftover today and I can’t wait to have it cold for lunch!

blog post 4.4.15 004

Leave a Reply

