Veal Picatta

One of my favorite go to meals is veal or chicken picatta.  Thin slices of meat, browned in a bit of butter and topped with a delicious lemon sauce, YUM!  Plus it only takes about 20 minutes start to finish, making it a very easy weeknight meal.

I usually start by prepping all of my ingredients so they are ready and waiting for me.

blog post 4.12.15 004

Lemon, garlic, capers and parsley.  I start by dredging the veal in flour, then I brown it in the saute pan.

blog post 4.12.15 001 blog post 4.12.15 002

After all of the pieces are browned, I pull them out, put them in a warm oven and start making the sauce.    I add a bit of the dredging flour to the fat in the pan and create a roux.   I let that cook for a minute and add the garlic and squeeze half a lemon into the pan.   I add chicken stock and whisk until smooth, then toss in the thinly sliced lemon pieces and the capers and allow it to cook for 15 minutes.  I add the veal back into the pan and cook for an additional 5 minutes.   Finish the sauce with a couple of tablespoons of butter and add the parsley.

I usually serve it with a side of pasta and I picked up a head of broccoli that I cooked in the same water as the pasta, whoo hoo, one less pan to wash!  Happy weeknight meal planning on my part!

veal picatta

 

Leave a Reply

