Potato Pancakes and Pork

We had pork tenderloin for dinner on Friday and I ran through a bunch of starch options in my head on my long car ride home.   All of a sudden it hit me – POTATO PANCAKES!  I hadn’t made them in a while and once I thought of them, it was all I could think about.  I love potato pancakes.   These are super simple to put together, you wizz the entire thing up in your blender and fry.

Potato Pancakes

2 Potatoes, Peeled and Diced

1/2 Onion, Peeled and Diced

1 Egg

1/4 tsp Baking Soda

2 T Flour

Salt and Pepper, to Taste

Add all of the ingredients in the blender and puree.   Pour batter onto a skillet and using an off set spatula, spread the batter really, really thinly in the pan.   Once it is brown, flip and cook until brown on the second side.  Season with a bit of salt and serve.   These do not reheat well and are best served hot, straight from the pan.

Originally I was going to grill the pork but the wind was fierce, so I ended up roasting it in the oven.  I rounded out the meal with some steamed green beans for a beautiful and colorful meal.

pork and pots pot pancake

I swear I could eat my weight in potatoes…..thank goodness I have a small amount of will power!

 

Leave a Reply

