Grilled Chicken Salad

So I used the leftover chicken to make chicken salad for my dinner last night.  I have many variations of chicken salad, but the one thing they all have in common is lots and lots of veggies.  I like my salads to have a nice bit of crunch, loads of color, and a full serving of vegetables, if possible.

Last night I wanted a Waldorf style salad so I peeled and chopped some carrots, onions, celery and red seedless grapes.

veg and fruit

 

I diced two grilled chicken breasts and added them to the bowl.

chx before mayo

All I had to do to finish was add a bit of mayo.  I am not a fan of overly dressed salads, I like to keep the dressing as minimal as possible.  I also don’t add salt to my salads, I find it pulls the water from the vegetables and makes the salad runny.    I usually salt the salad at the table, just before eating.   I didn’t need to add much in the way of spices, because the chicken was already seasoned with herbs, white wine, and garlic.

dinnerchix salad

Once I plated it, I added a sprinkling of chopped walnuts.  It was a lovely meal at the end of a very long day and it made great use of our leftovers, double win!

 

One thought on “Grilled Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

