Spring is in full bloom!

Spring is definitely in full bloom around our house.  The trees and flowers have really started to unfurl their leaves and flowers are blooming everywhere.   It is so nice to come home at night and still have a little bit of daylight, I just love when the days start getting longer.   I hate the winter when I go to work in the dark and come home in the dark.  I feel better, more joyous, when I get to spend time in the sun.

Anyway, I got home and grabbed my camera for some shots of the flowers around the house.

crab apple blog post 4.21.15 022 blog post 4.21.15 024 blog post 4.21.15 030

It makes me so happy to see the verdant green leaves alongside the vibrant flowers.  The earth is awaking after a long winter of sleep and I for one am thrilled with the change.

To celebrate, I grilled up some pork chops for dinner.  I had marinated the chops using a Hawaiian style store-bought marinade and added some garlicky sautéed spinach and mushroom pilaf to the plate.    I loved the fresh, fruity marinade paired with the earthiness of the rice.  Greens are always one of our favorite side dishes and we love spinach with a boatload of garlic.   Couldn’t ask for a better weeknight meal!

pork chops

Leave a Reply

