Pasta with Sausage and Peppers

I just love easy quick dinners on Friday nights and this one was especially precious because I don’t have to work either weekend day, whoo hooo!   I picked up a bag of yellow, orange, and red sweet peppers and sliced them up along with two onions.  I tossed them with some olive oil, minced garlic, a can of diced tomatoes, salt, pepper, and oregano.  I laid a pound of hot italian sausage on top and roasted the whole dish in the oven.

blog 5.2.15 009

I flipped the sausage and vegetables about halfway through the cooking process so they were all nicely and evenly browned.   It only took about 45 minutes at 375 degrees.  While the sausage and veg cooked, I sat in the sun reading a book.  Once the sausage and peppers were almost done, I put on a pot of pasta and heated up a little sauce for a totally easy dinner!

blog 5.2.15 012

The house smelled amazing as the dish cooked and I loved how the sausage gave just a hint of heat to the vegetables.  There is just enough left over for the hubby to have as his lunch on Saturday, leaving me time to enjoy my weekend off without having to worry about lunch!

Leave a Reply

