Happy Mother’s Day

I took a look back at my Mother’s Day post from last year and I still mean every word in that post.   But today, I am in a better place, it still sucks not being able to have children, but I have come to terms with it in a way I have never been able to do before.  It is really freeing, like a heavy burden has been lifted.  I will always mourn the fact that I am childless by choice, but today it doesn’t consume me. But enough about me, today is the day we all celebrate our Mother’s and mine is extraordinary.

My Mom lives 2400 miles away from me so the best I can do for her today is call her and wish her a Happy Mother’s Day. I know my Dad will take her out for a nice meal and that makes me really happy.  She deserves to have someone pamper and take care of her for the day.  I was an unplanned addition in her life and I will be forever grateful that she had me.  I understand that I was not an easy child, from day one.   My Mother talks about how sick she was…..for ten full months!  The only thing she could keep down was Hershey’s Dark Chocolate bars and as many of you know, dark chocolate is my weakness.  Once I was born, I just wouldn’t sleep, for a women like my mom, who requires at least eight hours of uninterrupted sleep to feel human, I must have been a nightmare. Fast forward a few decades and I am sure I still frustrate my Mother on a regular basis, but hopefully, I also make her happy and proud.

It is because of her that I am the woman I am today.  I have learned so much from her, not the least of which is grace under pressure.  It is something I use every single day of my life in my chosen profession.  The world around me may be going to hell in a hand basket, but you won’t see me panic.  I remember one night, back when I was a kid, she baked a cake for a dinner party.  The cake stuck in the pan and came out in pieces.  I remember being upset for her and she laughed and said, no one but me knows I planned on a layer cake for dessert.  She made a batch of pudding, sliced up some fruit and turned that ruined cake into Trifle.  Everyone ranted and raved over her dessert.  I was in awe of her that day.  She took a disaster and turned it into a triumph and no one was the wiser.   I learned a lot from and about my Mother that day.

My love for and of food comes from my Mother.  When I was a child and we lived in NY, she took classes at the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park.  She would come home and make us these exotic and fantastic dinners.   To this day, she is constantly seeking new and different recipes to try, never settling for a boring dinner, she craves the extraordinary.  From her I learned to embrace new things and to constantly look for ways to improve, change, grow, and learn.   Never except your limits, always push harder.

Thank you Mom, I am externally grateful that you are my Mother.  I love you so much and I hope you have a phenomenal Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

