Burgers and Fries

So for my birthday, I asked my Mother for a meat grinder attachment for my Kitchen Aid mixer.  I just don’t like the texture of the ground meat you buy at the store.  I do like the meat I get from my butcher, but he grinds everything to order.  I don’t always have an opportunity to get to his store, hence the request for my very own grinder.

I did some research on the best cuts of meat for a really good hamburger, and there are TONS of opinions out there on the internet.  We ground a lot of our own meat and sausages while in culinary school and I knew that one of the keys to a really great burger is a decent fat content in  your meat.   You really can’t have a good, juicy burger with a 80/20 ratio of meat to fat.   I love ground chuck and ground sirloin for burgers and it is always good to have more than one cut of beef in your mixture for taste, texture, and fat content, but since I was only cooking for the two of us, I just went with a chuck roast and to bump up the fat and flavor component, I added a generous helping of bacon to the mix.

blog post 5.11.15 001 meat ready for grinder

It is a fairly easy process, take a hunk of meat and cut it into smaller cubes.   Place the meat in the freezer for about an hour until it is partially frozen, then grind it and add spices.

grinding meat

I seasoned the meat with Montreal steak seasoning, it has loads of black pepper, salt and garlic, which is perfect for a burger.   One the meat was ground and seasoned, I shaped it into patties.

burgers

The hubby fired up the grill and we cooked off the burgers.  We added cheese, because, let’s face it, cheese makes everything better! I topped mine with slices of tangy bIue cheese, the hubby went with good old american cheese.  I made a batch of caramelized onions and we served the burgers with some bacon strips and smoky BBQ sauce.

finished burgercaramelized onions

Because it was my birthday weekend, I decided to splurge and make home-made french fries to go along side the burgers.  Man, were they delicious! Why is it that the things that are bad for us, taste so darn good?

fries

I did make myself a cucumber tomato salad to go on the side so I at least had my veggies!  I kept it simple, tomatoes, cut into wedges and cucumbers, topped with a red wine vinaigrette.

cucumber tom salad

All in all, it was a really good birthday dinner, if I do say so myself!

2 thoughts on “Burgers and Fries

Leave a Reply

