Commencement

Well, another Commencement has come and gone.  I am so proud of all of our students, they have such bright futures in front of them and I am so grateful to have been the one to plan their last official university function, well, at least their last one as a student.  Hopefully, we will see them back in the fall for Alumni weekend.  To one student in particular, Toni, my favorite student worker, I wish you all the best in medical school!  I am so proud of your accomplishments and I know we will see great things from you in the future!

Commencement for me, is a marathon, long grueling hours, spent on my feet, making sure every single detail is perfect.   This is their final farewell and I want everything to go exactly as planned.  It was an exhilarating ride and I think I have finally caught up on my sleep.   I worked forty-seven hours in three days and goodness was I tired by the end of the day on Wednesday. Luckily, we have been granted Friday’s off in the summer again this year, so all I had to do was take Thursday off and I had a five-day weekend to relax and enjoy!  I indulged in my after Commencement ritual of a day at the spa, I don’t think I have needed a massage more in my life, my lower back was definitely in need of some serious attention.

Thank goodness I like to plan ahead,  I knew I would be relaxed and useless by the time I left the spa, so in the morning, I prepped our dinner.   The weather was a bit cool and damp and I wanted some old school comfort food.  I settled for breaded pork cutlet, oven roasted carrots, and mashed potatoes with gravy.  I would like to show you a picture of my plate, It looked really good, but I was just so tired, I completely forgot to grab my camera! As good as dinner was, I really think next year I am going to indulge myself further by planning on having take out instead of cooking dinner.

Congratulations to the class of 2015 – you have an amazing future ahead of you!

Leave a Reply

