Curried Chicken Salad

The package of chicken from Saturday was a family pack.  Since I hadn’t split the pack before freezing, I had no option but to cook all of the chicken.   We only put BBQ sauce on two of the five breasts, the rest I seasoned with salt, pepper, and a little garlic and grilled them off.   Sunday morning, I pulled the cold, cooked chicken from the fridge and made a batch of curried chicken salad.

I started with a bunch of vegetables.  I like the crunch of raw carrots, celery and onion.   Once I had diced the vegetable, I started on the chicken.   I tossed everything in a bowl and proceeded to make some curry mayonnaise to use as my dressing.

chx and veg

First, I toasted up some hot curry powder in a dry saute pan.  This only takes about thirty seconds and can burn so quickly so keep your eye on the pan.  It really does make all the difference in the world.  The heat brings out the oils in the spices, increasing the flavor and depth of the spice.

toasting spices

I whisked the toasted spices into some store-bought mayo and then added that to my bowl of chicken and vegetables.

curry mayo chx salad

To add a second layer of crunch, I tossed in a handful of shelled pistachio nuts.  It was delicious and we have enough leftover for lunch again on Monday, whoo hooo!

2 thoughts on “Curried Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

