Veggies and Pasta with Sausage

I was craving fresh vegetables this entire week, I guess too many days of eating on the run during Commencement week had left my body craving whole foods.  I threw together some onions, peppers, mushrooms, and tomatoes with some olive oil, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper.

peppers and onions

I used a disposable pan and cooked them on the grill alongside some sweet Italian Sausage.   While that was cooking, I put on a pot of water for pasta and heated up a batch of sauce.

pasta and sausage

I loaded the pasta with a generous spoonful of the roasted vegetables and dug in.  It was exactly what I was craving!   This is a picture of my hubby’s plate,  I would have shown you the boatload of vegetables that I put on my pasta, but I was just too hungry to wait! We ended up having to eat dinner inside because just as we were ready to sit down, the skies opened up and the rain came pouring down.  I am not complaining, we are in desperate need of rain around here.  I know the poor people of Texas and Oklahoma would be willing to send some of their rain my way, they have certainly had their share this past week!

Thanks to the rain, my garden is doing better.  I was able to harvest my first piece of produce……

berries first strawberry!

Normally we don’t get any ripe strawberries, the birds swoop in and eat them the second they ripen, but luckily, I was in the right place at the right time this week!  Sweet and delicious, the perfect way to end a lovely meal.

Speaking of produce, next week starts our CSA and I can’t wait to see what will be in our box.  I just LOVE summer!

2 thoughts on “Veggies and Pasta with Sausage

Leave a Reply

