Pork Roast on the Grill

When the weather turns hot and humid, I loath turning my oven on and heating up the entire house.  I really, really wanted a slow cooked pork roast for dinner so I did the next best thing, I put a roast on a bed of onions, seasoned it well, covered it in bacon, added some apple juice to the pan, covered the pan with foil and roasted it on our grill using the indirect heat method.   I left the foil on for one and a half hours, then took it off so the bacon would get nice and brown.

pork roast

Earlier in the day, while it was still relatively cool out, I made a toll house pie and roasted off two pounds of carrots.   I used the carrots to make Martha Stewart’s Orzo Salad with Roasted Carrots in a Lemon Vinaigrette.

orzo salad

I rounded out the meal with a lovely spinach salad.  It was the perfect late spring dinner, warm meat, room temperature side dish and cool, refreshing salad…..that had BACON on it, I mean really, how bad can life be, the meat and the salad both had BACON!

spinach salad pork and orzo

I used both dark chocolate and peanut  butter chips in the toll house pie.  It was awesome end to a really good dinner!

tollhouse pie

Leave a Reply

