Pasta with Spicy Sausage and Zucchini

I found this recipe last summer, it calls for pasta, zucchini, spicy italian sausage, and goat cheese.  It is really, really simple to make and tastes fantastic!  This time I used 8 oz of goat cheese and two pounds of hot italian sausage.   I think my husband could have eaten the entire dish in one sitting, but he restrained himself so he would have enough left for lunch the next day.

sausage and pasta

I normally serve this with a side salad and some warm bread, but I got home a little late and didn’t have time to stop at the store.  We certainly didn’t miss either one.  This is a perfect one dish meal, you have your starch, vegetable, and protein in one bite.   I love how the goat cheese is the perfect foil for the spicy sausage.  I tend to tweak a recipe every time I make it and this one is no exception.  As I said earlier, I used 8 oz of goat cheese, two pounds of meat, and I used yellow onions instead of shallots.   The parsley came from our garden and made for a lovely presentation.   A simple garnish of freshly grated parmesan cheese was all we needed to finish the dish.  I can’t wait for the zucchini in my garden to grow, I think we will be making this dish many times this summer!

We were forced to eat dinner inside because as I was prepping dinner, I noticed some pretty angry storm clouds rolling our way.

storm rolling in

We absolutely need the rain, so I was perfectly fine eating inside and watching the skies darken.   After dinner we were treated to a very intense lightning show and driving rain pouring down.  I happen to like thunderstorms, I love watching the lightning flash, illuminating the sky, followed by deep, rolling thunder.  The rain pelting the windows and roof just sound so much more intense when accompanied by the wind, lightening, and thunder.  Hopefully all of this rain will make my garden grow!

2 thoughts on “Pasta with Spicy Sausage and Zucchini

Leave a Reply

