CSA 2015, Week 3

I’m BACK!  I went to visit a friend in the mid west and had a FANTASTIC time.   She used to live here on the east coast, but moved back home a few years ago.  Each year we try to take a girls trip somewhere, but this year it wasn’t going to work out so I decided to hope a plane to her home town and visit with her there.  Best decision of the summer so far!

Anyway, now I am home and catching up on all manner of laundry, errands, and house cleaning….ughh….good thing I was able to take a break and pick up my CSA this week.  I always look forward to seeing what is in store for me at the farm.

csa 2015, week 3

My share this week consisted of:

Scallions

Kale

Turnips

Garlic Scapes

Salad Greens

Red Leaf Lettuce

Napa Cabbage

Zucchini

Radishes

I used the salad greens, head lettuce, and radishes in my salads for the past two nights.  I love having salad as our vegetable with dinner, easy, colorful, and delicious!  As for the garlic scapes, I intend on using the basil from my garden and turning them into a garlic scape pesto.   I like to freeze my pesto in ice cube trays, pop them out once they are completely frozen and then I have small amounts I can use to flavor different dishes or use it as a condiment on my sandwich.

I used the zucchini in my meatloaf and with the help of the young ladies who live next door, I made four loaves of zucchini bread.   I found a recipe for a napa cabbage asian style slaw that I intend on making for dinner, as a side dish to accompany the pork chops I purchased from the farmer this week.  All I have left is the turnips, which I think I will roast as a side dish one night this week.   All in all, it was a really great week of produce, I can’t wait to see what I get next week!

Leave a Reply

