Grilled Meatloaf and Roasted Potatoes

My plane ride home from the mid west was eventful, to say the least.  It felt like the entire country was experiencing storms and I was the lucky recipient of mid-air turbulence.   My flight from Chicago to Philly was so bumpy, they didn’t even attempt to serve us  beverages.  The flight attendants were instructed to stay seated for their safety.   I blame the bad weather on the fact that while I made my connecting flight in Chicago, unfortunately, my luggage did not.   The good news is, they found my luggage and were able to deliver it to me the same day….at midnight….

I really wanted to sleep in after a long travel day, but that just wasn’t in the cards.  I had lots of things that had to be done, so I got up at the crack of dawn to get a jump on my errands.   I just knew I wasn’t going to feel like cooking a big dinner later in the day, I tend to have more energy in the morning, so I went to the butcher and picked up two pounds of meatloaf mix (ground beef, pork, and veal).  I used it to make a batch of meatloaf.  The restaurant I used to work in served grilled meatloaf as one of our bar menu items and my husband got addicted.  In fact, he now prefers grilled meatloaf over a meatloaf dinner.

sauteed veg soaking bread

I sautéed up some grated carrots and zucchini, along with some minced garlic and a diced onion.   While that was cooling, I soaked two slices of potato bread in whole milk to use as my binder.  I combined the vegetables and bread with the meat and added in some spices and a dash or two of Worcestershire sauce.  I put the meat in a loaf pan and topped it with bacon, to keep it moist, and because, well, let’s be completely honest, bacon makes everything better!   I cooked it off in the oven and then let it cool completely.

meatloaf

Once cool, we slice it and grill it, then top it with BBQ Sauce.

cutting meatloaf meatloaf dinner

I peeled and sliced potatoes to go along side the meatloaf.  I tossed them with olive oil and some steak seasoning then put them in a disposable aluminium pan on the grill.   Once they were almost done, we added the meatloaf to the grill.  It doesn’t need to be cooked, only charred on the outside and heated through.  I rounded out the meal with a salad, using the greens and radishes from our CSA.

blue cheese salad

Since I had prepped everything in the morning, it was really no problem to throw dinner together at the end of the day.  Good thing, because I was ready to sit down and relax after enjoying this meal!

Leave a Reply

