Asian Cole Slaw

So I wanted to use the head of napa cabbage that I had received in my CSA box last week.  I found a recipe for an asian slaw awhile back and thought it would be a nice change from your standard slaw recipes.

As a bonus, it also used up the scallions I had in the CSA box – double win!  It was super simple to put together, really just a matter of slicing a bunch of vegetables – cabbage, scallions, red and orange peppers, and then whisking up the dressing.  Be warned, the dressing does not look like it would be enough to coat all of the vegetables in the bowl, but it was absolutely perfect.   The chili oil gave it a nice bit of heat and all of the vegetables retained such a great crunch!

asian slaw

The colors of this salad were beautiful and made for such a pretty plate presentation.  It is always nice to eat something that not only tastes good but looks fantastic!  I paired the salad with some bone in pork chops that I had picked up from my CSA farmer and a batch of asian flavored rice.

pork chops

We had enough salad left over to have it again the next night as a side dish for the salmon I grilled on a cedar plank.

salmon

It was such a light, refreshing dinner to have after a long hot summer day.  I can’t wait to try make this salad again, I definitely think this will make into our regular dinner rotation!

Leave a Reply

