Garlic Scape Pesto

I am a huge fan of pesto, I make several different varieties, and pop them in the freezer.  I like freezing them in small batches, I usually use ice-cube trays and once they are frozen, I pop them out of the tray, wrap them individually, and put them all in a freezer bag.

garlic scape pesto

Don’t you just love the vibrant green color of this pesto!  There are so many recipes on the internet, I don’t truly follow any recipe.  I just toast up some pine nuts and combine it with parmesan cheese, the garlic scapes, a bit of basil from my garden, and some olive oil.   Having pesto in such small quantities in the freezer makes it so easy to use it in a variety of dishes.  This week, I made myself a vegetable pasta dish for dinner, I sautéed up some onions, zucchini, and tomatoes, and tossed the pasta with one thawed cube of pesto and a bit of the pasta cooking water.

veggie pasta

I grated a little extra parmesan cheese over the top and dug in.  The zucchini was from my garden, I love having fresh produce available right outside my back door! Delicious and healthy dinner for one, made in a matter of minutes!

Leave a Reply

