Black Raspberries

As I mentioned, my niece just moved to a house closer to us.  I am really excited, it is so nice to have them in the area and the property she purchased had a grape arbor, tons of fruit trees and a boatload of black raspberry bushes.   She called me up and asked if I wanted to come over and pick berries.  I was thrilled.   Black raspberries are so expensive, having the ability to pick my fill and only paying in sweat equity was awesome.

black raspberries

I still had the quart containers and flat box from the strawberries I purchased last week so I used that to as my container.  This way I knew how much I was picking and could get a nice estimate on how many recipes I could make.   I wanted to add at least two quarts to the bachelor’s jam I have going in the basement fridge and I wanted to make a few batches of jam, if possible.   I picked, with help from her and her four children, six quarts of berries.

I came home, washed to of the quarts, tossed them with sugar and added them to the bachelor’s jam.  I can’t wait until Christmas – I really, really hope it turns out as good as I hope!

With the rest of the berries, I was able to make two batches of jam.   I started by washing, crushing, and deseeding the berries.  Most recipes tell you to remove half the seeds, but I really like removing all of them.  I use the jam in cooking more than any of the other flavors, and it just makes sense to have it without seeds.

I have been invited back to pick more berries, thank goodness, because I want to make a few batches of mixed berry jam (black raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries) next weekend.  Hopefully I can get two batches of mixed berry done along with a batch or two of sour cherry.  Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Black Raspberries

  1. Hello! I love reading what you’re up to! Steve and I have a cherry tree covered in fruit this year (and I don’t think it ever had fruit before). They seem like small sour cherries. If you are interested in checking them out, you can have them all!

Leave a Reply

