Baked Chicken and Zucchini

We have been battling some intense rain in our area and I just didn’t feel like dodging downpours while grilling dinner so I scoured the internet for a recipe using chicken and zucchini.  I came across this one for Baked Chicken with Zucchini, I had everything on hand, no running to the store for ingredients, so I figured I would try it.   I did have to run out in the rain and pick some basil from my garden, but never fear, I am not sweet enough to melt.

Usually, the first time I make a recipe the way it is written, but this time I made changes right from the start.  I read a couple of the online reviews and noticed that most added some sautéed onion with the garlic, always a great idea as far as I am concerned so I did the same.  I used panko bread crumbs on top of the zucchini, because it is what I had on hand.  I used a package of shredded Italian Blend cheese, again, because that was what was in my fridge.

veg

Once I got everything sliced, it was really quick to put together.  I sliced the zucchini really thick and sautéed it on high, just wanted to brown both sides lightly.   I put that in the bottom of the pan and topped it with 2 T of Panko Breadcrumbs.   I added a layer of the sautéed onions and garlic, then the tomatoes, the basil and one cup of shredded cheese.   I breaded the chicken and put it directly on top of the vegetables, I didn’t brown it first.

zucchini

After the chicken was fully cooked through, I topped it with more cheese and slide it back in the oven for another 10 minutes.   I served it with a side of rice, but I would have been very happy having just the chicken and vegetables for dinner.  It was a really low carb meal (without the rice, mind you) and the flavors were delicious!  I am so very happy we had a rain day that forced me to try something new for dinner.

chx dinner

One thought on “Baked Chicken and Zucchini

  1. Pingback: Sausage, Tomatoes, and Zucchini | Pickled Sweet

Leave a Reply

