Grilled Pork Chops with Zucchini (gasp!) and Coleslaw

I have been really trying to limit the number of white starches we are eating and I find it easier to do that in the summer when fresh veggies are so abundant.    Case in point, our dinner the other night, we had a protein, two vegetables, and garlic knots.   I was really, really good and only ate one knot, the rest of my plate was filled with lean protein and veggies.

pork chop

I used the cabbage and carrots from our CSA to make the coleslaw.  I grilled the zucchini from our CSA and finally, the parsley on the garlic knot was also part of our CSA this week.  I love when I am able to use multiple items from the CSA basket in one meal.  The hubby made perfect grill marks on the pork chops, they were tender and juicy inside.  I seasoned them lightly with Penzey’s Pork Chop Seasoning.   In the winter, I like making complicated dishes that take hours to prepare, but the summer for me is all about quick, easy, and fresh.   This dinner fit the bill, I think we had dinner on the table in 30 minutes, start to finish.   Plus, we were able to sit outside on the deck and watch the family of deer emerge from the back woods and partake of the tall grasses in the field behind our house.  A relaxing and wonderful evening of good food, shared with my hubby, while deer played in the field, can you ask for a better night?

2 thoughts on “Grilled Pork Chops with Zucchini (gasp!) and Coleslaw

Leave a Reply

