Chicken and Rice (and more zucchini….)

I spent the weekend in Baltimore with friends and came home late afternoon on Sunday.  I needed a quick dinner  because I had promised my co workers that I would make homemade ice cream sandwiches for lunch on Monday.  I stopped at the store and picked up boneless, skinless chicken, a box of Goya yellow rice, and a bottle of marinade. I knew I would have more zucchini ready to be picked in the garden so I didn’t need to grab a vegetable.

I marinated the chicken and put it in the fridge for a few hours while I got started on the cookies.   I made Oatmeal Raisin and Chocolate Chip cookies and filled them with good old vanilla ice cream.  I totally zoned on taking pictures of the icy treats before packing them up and putting them in the freezer so you will just have to take my word for it that they were both pretty and pretty tasty.  Everyone seemed to enjoy them at lunch on Monday.

Anyway, once the cookies were done and cooling on the counter, I fired up the grill and the hubby grilled off the chicken while I made the rice and cut the zucchini.   Once the chicken was done, he added the zucchini and I finished up the rice.

chx zucchini

Healthy, easy, and delicious, just what I want in a mid summer dinner!

Leave a Reply

