Sausage, Tomatoes, and Zucchini

So a few weeks back I made a recipe for baked chicken and zucchini with tomatoes.  We LOVED it, in fact, I made it for my friends in Baltimore on Saturday night, but I completely forgot the mozzarella cheese!  I am here to tell you, we did not miss the cheese, it was delicious unadorned!

I tweaked the recipe a bit, since we had just had chicken the night before, by topping the veggies with some hot Italian sausage.

sausage and zucchini

I started by sauteing the onions with some garlic, while that was cooking, I sliced and layered the zucchini in the pan.  I was in a hurry Monday night so I didn’t even brown the zucchini. On top of the zucchini, I added sliced tomatoes and finally the sautéed onion garlic mixture.   A sprinkle of fresh basil went over the veggies and the whole thing was topped with some mozzarella cheese.

I browned the sausage on both sides and added it to the pan.   I covered the pan with foil and cooked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.   After 30 minutes, I removed the foil and baked it for an additional 10 minutes.  All it needed was a side of pasta and dinner was done.

veg and pasta

I took a picture of my plate, I just wasn’t in the mood for sausage so I had pasta and veggies.  I was really happy with the way this turned out, I think it will be of our new go to recipes for summer, or at least until we run out of zucchini.

2 thoughts on “Sausage, Tomatoes, and Zucchini

Leave a Reply

