CSA 2015, Week 8

We are officially half way through the summer CSA season and the variety of produce is really becoming interesting.   My CSA includes several pick your own crops – so far it has been herbs, cherry tomatoes, and flowers.   I can’t wait to see what we will be picking next!  My box for the week included:

CSA 2015, Week 8

Tomatoes

Cherry Tomatoes

Cucumbers

Zucchini

Swiss Chard

Lettuce

Cabbage

Scallions

Eggplant

Beets

Carrots

Jalapeno

I used the carrots and zucchini in my meatloaf this week, the lettuce we had as a side with the sausage, eggplant, and zucchini dish I made the other night.  I intend on using the cabbage from this week and last to make a batch of fermented sauerkraut. The Scallions went into a potato salad and I added the lone jalapeno to the jar of pickled jalapeno’s I have started in the fridge.   I intend on roasting the beets and using them on my lunchtime salads this week.  I love how colorful the produce gets each week!

Leave a Reply

